15 May 2009

MTV Pakistan Musik Awards 2009

After the franchise was officially launched some three years ago after taking over Indus Music, the MTV Style Award were held sometime early last year but never was there a music awards ceremony…until now.

With Nadya Hussain and Wiqar Ali Khan as hosts, it was announced at a press conference that the MTV Brrr Music Awards 2009 with VJs Faizan Haqque, Dino Ali, Ali Safina and Younus Shahid in tow (VJs Anoushey Ashraf and Ayesha Omar were in Abu Dhabi supporting the Pakistani cricket team), will be held sometime this month.

It was also made known on the occasion that several international artistes will attend as well as perform at the event. The authorities chose to remain tight-lipped about the date or location of the event out of security concerns for local artistes as well as those who would be visiting.

The nominations for the MTV Brrr Music Awards 2009 are:

Best lyrics: Shehzad Roy (Laga Reh), Sabir Zafar (Gallan), Anwar Maqsood (Humsafar) and Ahmed Anees (Tere Bina).

Best live act: Sajid & Zeeshan, Zeb & Haniya, Seige and Co-VEN.

Best ballad: Morey Piya (Jal), Hum Tum (Azal), Khairiyan De Naal (Shafqat Amanat Ali Khan), Nahin Hai Yeh Pyar (Haroon) and Aitebaar (Zeb & Haniya).

Best rock song: Aisi Taisi (Azal), Hungami Halaat (Atif Aslam), Do Dil (Noori), Gallan (Ali Azmat) and Jago (Strings).

Best pop song : Koi Aane Wala Hai (Strings), Chandni Raatein (Ahmed Jehanzeb), Laga Reh (Shahzad Roy), Faaslay (Seige), Hum Se Hai Zamana (Call).

Best breakthrough act: Zeb & Haniya, Falak, Masooma, Kamran 82 Rocker and Faraz.

Best album: Kismet Apney Haath Mein (Shehzad Roy), Klashinfolk (Ali Azmat), Chup (Zeb & Haniya), Koi Aane Wala Hai (Strings), Journey (Fuzon) and Laut Aao (Ahmed Jehanzeb).

Best band: Noori, Call, Strings, Jal and Fuzon.

Best female singer: Hadiqa Kiyani, Fariha Parvez, Masooma.

Best male singer: Ali Zafar, Shehzad Roy, Ali Azmat, Atif Aslam and Shafqat Amanat Ali Khan.

No comments:

Post a Comment